Hamilton and Rosberg seeking six of the best

July 26, 2013 • Motorsports, News

MERCEDES AMG PETRONASMERCEDES AMG PETRONAS drivers Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg will be looking to claim a sixth Hungarian Grand Prix victory in seven years for the German manufacturer this weekend.

Mercedes-Benz-powered cars have won five of the last six Formula One races in Budapest, including three for Hamilton, in 2007, 2009 and 2012, during his time with Vodafone McLaren Mercedes. Former team-mates Jenson Button (2011) and Heikki Kovalainen (2008) also tasted success.

Hamilton dominated the 2012 Hungaroring race to join Ayrton Senna as its second most-successful driver, while victory this weekend would see the 2008 Formula One World Champion draw level with Michael Schumacher at the top of the list.

“I have always enjoyed the Hungaroring and it’s a track that I have been lucky enough to win at three times so far,” said Hamilton, currently fourth in the 2013 standings.

“I love the layout of the circuit and Budapest is a really cool city which has a great atmosphere over the race weekend. I’ve spent some time at the factory since we returned from Germany and I know that everyone there is working really hard to improve our overall performance and to address the issues that we experienced at the last race.”

Winner of the Monaco and British GPs already in 2013, Rosberg is eyeing his first podium in Hungary, his previous best result, fourth, coming in 2009.

“With all the twists and turns, it feels very much like Monaco but takes place on a normal circuit,” Rosberg said.

“The forecast looks hot and it is likely to very demanding on the tyres. Physically it will be a tough race and the lack of straights means that you never get a moment to relax. It would be great for us to come away from Hungary with another strong result to take into the summer break.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Related Posts

« »