A silver milestone for Mercedes-Benz

July 12, 2013 • Motorsports, News

A host of motorsport legends will be on hand at Norisring this weekend, as Mercedes-Benz celebrates 25 years in the DTM.

Mercedes-Benz first entered the Deutsche Tourenwagen Meisterschaft as a works team in 1988, and today is the most successful manufacturer in the German touring car class, having won 13 constructors’ titles and ten drivers’ championships.

Among a total of 169 race wins, Mercedes-Benz aces Bernd Schneider (43 wins), Klaus Ludwig (36) and Gary Paffett (20) lead the list of overall DTM race winners.

A five-time DTM Champion, Schneider headlines the list of Mercedes-Benz stars joining the celebrations, which will include street parades in the nearby Nuremberg, joined by triple champion Klaus Ludwig, Roland Asch, Bernd Mayländer and David Coulthard

“The race at the Norisring is generally considered to be one of the highlights of every DTM season, and I couldn’t imagine a better venue than this historic circuit at Dutzendteich to celebrate the 25th anniversary of Mercedes-Benz’s involvement in the DTM,” Toto Wolff, Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport, said.

“I am especially looking forward to meeting up with all the drivers from the past 25 years of DTM racing who will revive many fond memories of great DTM high points from the past when they parade their classic Mercedes-Benz through the streets of Nuremberg.”

Kent-born Paffett, who became the first British driver to win the series in 2005, leads the way for Mercedes-Benz in 2013, sitting third in the standings. The winner last time out at Lausitzring, Paffett has tasted success at Norisring in 2004 and 2005.

“The Norisring is a very special fixture on the calendar and quite unlike any of the other DTM circuits,” he said.

“Following my victory in the previous race at the Lausitzring, I’m feeling optimistic now about our chances of victory at the Norisring. With six races to go, we still have every chance of winning the title this season, which also happens to be Mercedes-Benz’s 25th in the competition.”

Having finished third at Lausitzring last month, Christian Vietoris is fourth in the standings, joined inside the top ten by Robert Wickens, seventh.

Sunday’s race, the fifth of ten rounds in the 2013 season, can be streamed live on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Related Posts

« »